See Alike in...

Alike App

Browser

rvzsg1976

720d

what foods have gluten that is not common, I just got diagnosed with celiac disease and struggling with what to eat. I know to stay away from breads an pasta an other stuff unless it says gluten-free but what other foods have gluten in it? or is there a good website to visit, I been searching online but nothing in depth.

Top reply
    • GirlWonder

      659d

      ✋modified food starch. Sometimes it’s wheat sometimes it’s corn.

    • GirlWonder

      659d

      ✋modified food starch. Sometimes it’s wheat sometimes it’s corn.

    • WWJD

      694d

      Teriyaki sauce was what I missed, who would think soy sauce has so much wheat. It does! Sometimes gluten is even in makeup and laundry soap (we had to switch).

    • Wine69

      706d

      Oatmeal. Make sure you get gluten free oatmeal. Bob Mills is the brand I buy.

      • AMWes

        706d

        @Wine69 i LOVE making no bakes with bob mills oatmeal!

    • yukichano

      711d

      Most chips and fries actually contain gluten I was surprised myself to find.that out .. it sucks but they're are at least some really good alternatives like gluten free hungry jack potatoes and for chips good crisps they're like Pringles

      • AMWes

        710d

        @yukichano most, if not all, of lays potato chips are gluten free. Some tortilla chips are, but definitely read labels. A lot of Ida Ore frozen fries are gluten free, excluding the crispy and seasoned ones

    • Parade

      716d

      Licorice has gluten in it

      • rvzsg1976

        714d

        @Parade 😥

        • Parade

          714d

          @rvzsg1976 I know 😢😢

    • Harlowe

      717d

      I've had bad reactions to Halls Cough Drops and certain capsules that my medications come in.

      • audRei

        716d

        @Harlowe ive always wondered why cough drops hurt my stomach

    • AMWes

      717d

      Rice Krispies were that for me. I continued to eat them for months after my diagnosis because i didn't realize they had malt in them. Also M&Ms are cross contaminated.

    • audRei

      719d

      Malt, barley, soy sauce (most are filtered with wheat, but gf versions do exist), vegan meat and cheese substitutes, oats (very likely to be cross contaminated), granola/cereal bars (even ones that are seeds/nuts/berries.)

      • AMWes

        717d

        @audRei for making no bake cookies I use Bob's Red Mill brand oats, and its a trustworthy gf brand. But their yellow cake mix tastes like cornbread and their pizza dough mix is very finicky

    • Cortnie

      719d

      Watch out for maltodextrin and malt in the ingredients and sometimes people with celiac have reactions to celery powder

    • Lolakid518

      720d

      There is an app (gluten free). It has a scanner for bar codes and you can search food to see if they contain gluten. You Still have to be careful and read the labels but it has really helped me. I am struggling too, it is definitely an adjustment.

      • rvzsg1976

        720d

        @Lolakid518 thanks so much that will help me lots! 🤗

☝ This content is generated by our users and it is not a substitute for professional medical advice. Please consult with your physician before making any medical decision

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Want to chat or share? Download the Alike app now and get complete access to Alike.health's unique features.

Find people who are
experiencing a similar
medical reality

100% Free
100%
Free

Download Alike for the full experience

JOIN

View All

Bupropion

night sweats

paranoid

Valium

sertraline

palpitations

Anxiety (Including GAD)

Depression

palpitations

Depression

Valium

Bupropion